Tags

, , ,

The weeknd provided some more inspiration for TFatM, so much so that I found myself adjusting some of the characters to fit with a darker feel I’ve discovered in my writing.

I’m not sure why, but some of the fluff bits I’ve been writing as part of my 750 words challenge have a darker edge to them – I put my characters in dark places and I enjoy it. Maybe its the fact I want them to fight their way out of it or I’m testing my own writing ability. Or maybe it’s the influence of some of the books I’ve been reading recently.

Hunting for inspiration, I’ve turned once again to Stephen R. Lawhead’s King Raven Trilogy (Hood, Scarlet, Tuck) which is a different view of the Robin Hood story. I like the feeling of the sinister “old” magic that surfaces as we go through the trilogy and after the weekend I’ve got a “Robin Hood” style character who I’m growing fonder of as the hours tick by – someone who may or may not become something important.

Hopefully I’ll be able to turn my attention once again to drafting this out with the aim of having a hard copy draft by Summerfest. Or at least a decent chunk for my beta readers to get their teeth into.

