Winners. Purple bars all over the place. People toasting coffee mugs filled with hot caffinated beverages (or tasty beverages in some cases – which would still be in the coffee mugs if they are students who haven’t got enough glass ware to cope with their well wishers and fans)

And then there are the people like me, who are sprinting for the finishing line, but have taken an unknown detour off the last 100m and gone off into the woods.

Meaning my characters have bushwacked me, kidnapped me and taken over my plot. Things have happened, things I wasn’t expecting and some rather dark pasts have been revealed. I wrote these guys, dammit! I should know everything about them!

*silent fume*

Work has taken over as well, so I’m spending my nights moonlighting as an author and my days as a well behaved engineering student. The author at night has a wild life and is not someone you’d invite to dinner if you want to have some of the coffee at the end of the meal to yourself. I think I have a growing brood of coffee cups congregating in my room. If I’m not careful, I’ll end up with an infestation and the pitter patter of tiny china mugs running across the carpet. Oh, the horror.

I guess I’ll have to figure out a way to cut through my bonds and find a map and get back on track to finish on Monday by midnight. Wish me well, fellow adventurers!

p.s. By the way, I hit 42k yesterday. 42k!

